
Certificates for Intrastate Operations 

 In many instances, a certificate is required to be in the transportation business where 
passengers or property will be transported by motor vehicle for compensation from one point in 
Alabama to another point in Alabama.  The Legal Division of the staff should be contacted at 334-
242-5200 concerning exemptions from these requirements and the process to get the type of 
certificate desired.  Generally, the requirements are as follows:  

GENERAL FREIGHT:  To transport property generally, except household goods, we must 
have forms E and H from the insurance company, an application with the attachments, a 
$100 filing fee from the applicant, and $6 per vehicle for registration numbers.  

HOUSEHOLD GOODS: To transport household goods (property from one residence to 
another), we must receive forms E and H from the insurance company, an application with 
the attachments, a $100 filing fee from the applicant, a tariff from the applicant or the 
applicant's agent, and $6 per vehicle for registration numbers. 

CHARTER BUS:  To transport passengers in charter bus service (30 plus passengers per 
vehicle and one charge for the group), we must have a form E from the insurance company, 
an application with the attachments, a $100 filing fee from the applicant, and $6 per vehicle 
for registration numbers.  

OTHER PASSENGER:  In most cases to transport passengers not in charter bus service, 
the applicant must submit the application with attachments and $100 filing fee and then 
present sufficient evidence at a hearing.  The hearing may be contested.  If the application 
is granted, then we must receive the form E filing from the insurance company and the tariff 
from the applicant or its agent. 

 In all cases, carriers must comply with Commission rules, which include requirements 
for a safety program, lettering of vehicles and annual reports, among other things.  Unless 
an operation is exempt, the law prohibits operations without a certificate issued by the 
Commission; submission of insurance filings and/or an application will not meet the 
requirements of the law or prevent enforcement actions (citations and fines).  
 


